Scroll to content

Wellfield Junior School

At Wellfield Junior School we care, learn and succeed together

Meet the Governors

Chair: Dr. Catherine Regan


Vice Chair: Mrs Kate Nield

Our Governors


The governing body of Wellfield Junior School has developed into a strong, active group of people committed to supporting the school to be the best it can be. Governors regularly attend training courses run by Trafford Governor Services, and one governor is a member of the local authority funding forum. Governors’ terms of office run for four years from the date of appointment and it is a voluntary role.


Our governors have responsibility for many different areas, such as finance, staffing, curriculum and achievement. They review and approve new policies, receive reports on different aspects of school life, review pupil progress and attainment, set and approve an annual budget to name but a few. Governors have attended parents meetings, conducted visits to school to see lessons and meet staff and children, as well as supported the school in a host of different ways. Far from being a “rubber stamping” body, the governors have the role of a “critical friend”, offering a range of skills and insights, reflections and challenges to the school, with the aim of ensuring it is led and managed well and fulfils its statutory roles.


Ofsted’s view: The governance of the school:


“The governing body has a comprehensive understanding of the school’s strengths and weaknesses and is fully involved in driving improvement. It ensures safeguarding requirements are met so that pupils are safe. Governors take part in a wide range of relevant training to maintain their effectiveness. The budget is managed efficiently. Governors hold the school to account for the way the funding for pupils supported by the pupil premium is used to raise their achievement. They have an accurate view of the quality of teaching. Governors know how leaders check how well staff are doing to improve their expertise, reward good teaching and tackle any underperformance.” (January 2014)


“The leadership team has maintained the good quality of education in the school since the last inspection. Wellfield is a calm, safe and purposeful school where pupils are well behaved and want to learn. You, staff and governors are willing to learn too. You are open to advice and support, including from the local authority and your school consultant, and are keen to benefit from outstanding practice in other schools. During your headship, you have galvanised the support of staff and governors. They are all highly positive, supportive, and optimistic about the clear direction in which senior leaders are taking the school.” (October 2018)


At Wellfield Junior School, much of the work of the governors is divided between two committees, the Staffing, Standards and Safeguarding committee and the Finance and Resources committee. These meet at least termly, usually a few weeks before each of the Full Governing Body meetings.


At Wellfield Juniors the Governing body is comprised of 12 governors:


  • 7 co-opted governors
  • 1 local authority governor
  • 2 parent governors
  • 1 headteacher
  • 1 staff governor


NameCategoryAppointed ByTerm of OfficeCommittees
Steve WorrallHeadteacherGovernorsFrom 24/04/22All committees
Catherine Regan


Safeguarding governor

Parents17/10/2022 – 16/10/2026Curriculum, Standards and Safeguarding
Kate NieldVice Chair
Governors06/03/2020 -05/03/2024Curriculum, Standards and Safeguarding
Tom CusackCo-optedGovernors17/06/2023-16/06/2027Finance and Resources (Chair)
Clare GoslingCo-optedGovernors29/11/2021-28/11/2025Finance and Resources (Vice chair)
Hayley AstonCo-optedGovernors06/03/23 – 05/03/27Curriculum, Standards and Safeguarding (Chair)
Jennifer MooreCo-optedGovernors26/6/23 -25/06/27Finance and Resources
Susan WoodwardLocal authorityLocal authority06/03/2023 – 05/03/2027Curriculum, Standards and Safeguarding (Vice Chair)
David BarkerParentParents17/10/2022 -16/10/2026Finance and Resources
Charlotte MeeStaffGovernors28/11/2022 – 27/11/2026Curriculum, Standards and Safeguarding
Sarah NesbittAssociate
(Deputy Head)
Governors All committees

Declarations of Interest 2022-23




Name of Business / Associated Person

Nature of Business

Nature of Interest

Date Interest Ceased

Tom Cusack

Chair (Co-opted)





Hayley Aston






David Barker






Clare Gosling


Wellfield Infant School

Infant school



Charlotte Mee






Kate Nield


Turing NW Maths Hub           

Maths Hub



Sarah Nesbitt


Deputy Head





Steve Worrall